Directing Board

  • Frances Bartlett

    Frances Bartlett

    Frances has a rich and varied background in education. She has worked in several Local Authorities as a primary teacher and was a secondary English teacher and Initial Teacher Trainer in Botswana for three years before entering school leadership back in the UK. She is an experienced Primary Headteacher having led two schools through successful inspections and since January 2014 has worked as a schools adviser for the Diocese of Oxford. She is a Diocesan nominated Director for the Eynsham Partnership Academy and also the link adviser for the church schools in the Academy Trust.

  • James Bird

    James Bird

    James has worked in education for nearly twenty five years. He initially worked as a Medical Education specialist within a large teaching hospital and medical school, this included managing Welsh Assembly projects to develop postgraduate medical education across Wales. He retrained as a primary teacher and has worked in a number of roles across all primary age ranges – including senior leadership within two primary schools. James worked in an advisory role for a local authority before joining Oxford Brookes University as a teacher trainer and educational researcher specialising in learning technologies. Since 2014 he has combined work at Oxford Brookes with being School Improvement Officer within the EPA. James has also been Chair of Governors of one of the EPA schools. He was appointed as a skills director on the EPA board.

  • Anne Carter

    Anne Carter

    Anne has extensive experience as a primary school governor, acting as Vice Chair and Standards Committee chair for a number of years. Anne used to be a Primary Teacher and now works for West Oxfordshire District Council.  She is a trustee of ADHD Oxfordshire. Anne is a Diocesan appointed director on the EPA board.

  • Dr Hilary Emery

    Dr Hilary Emery

    Hilary is a Diocesan nominated Director for the Eynsham Partnership Academy.  Initially a primary teacher, her research interests have been in assessment and she sits on AQA's Curriculum and Assessment Committee.  She led teacher training at the University of Worcester, worked for government on teacher education policy and children's services and was CEO of the National Children's Bureau.  Recently she has developed resources to help schools in managing children and young people's wellbeing and mental health.  She is a Norham Fellow at the Oxford University Department of Education; a trustee of Oxford United Community Trust; and works with Family Links in Oxford.

  • Dr Jennifer Faulkner

    Dr Jennifer Faulkner

    Jennifer was appointed as a Director in 2015 and is a member of the Standards Committee. She is also an academy-appointed Governor at Bartholomew School and a Parent Governor at Stanton Harcourt CE Primary. Jennifer chairs the Data, Achievement and Curriculum Committee at Bartholomew and is the Governor with responsibility for monitoring all aspects of Inclusion at Stanton Harcourt. She was previously Chair of Governors at a comprehensive secondary school in Bolton. Jennifer works part-time as a Lecturer in Chemistry at The Queen's College, University of Oxford and also as an Associate Lecturer for The Open University teaching undergraduate and postgraduate science students.

  • Mike Foster

    Mike Foster

    Mike is a secondary school appointed director. He served as chair of the directing board during its inception year. He has been a governor of Bartholomew School for nine years. Mike has worked within the NHS for more than thirty years. He is a mental health nurse and has held a number of senior professional leadership and quality and risk management roles. Mike is currently acting Deputy Director of Nursing for Oxford Health NHS Foundation Trust.  Mike is the Chair of the Directing Board.

  • Sarah Kerswell

    Sarah Kerswell

    Sarah has worked in education for more than 20 years including working as Headteacher at Hanborough Manor School 2006-2017 and during this time Sarah was seconded to other local primary schools in order to support with school development.  Since 2015 Sarah has been the Primary Executive Lead of the EPA and is also currently the Interim CEO.  

  • Charlie Marshall

    Charlie Marshall

    Charlie is a Diocesan appointed director and headteacher of a local primary school. She has been in education for over 25 years in a range of settings and positions including state, private and nursery. She has been a governor in both Secondary and Primary Schools. Charlie is chair of her partnership and a member of the Oxfordshire Headteachers Conference Association. 

  • Rain Newton-Smith

    Rain Newton-Smith

    Rain Newton-Smith  is a primary school appointed director.  Rain is the Chief Economist at CBI and previously worked at Oxford Economics as Head of Emerging Markets and before that on monetary policy and international forecasts for the MPC at the Bank of England.

  • Jane Osborne

    Jane Osborne

    Jane is a secondary school appointed director and chair of the standards committee of the EPA. She is also chair of governors of Bartholomew School - where she has been governor for more than twenty years. Jane is also the quality of teaching and learning governor of Eynsham Community Primary School. She had a diverse and rich experience as a secondary school teacher and leader in the UK and overseas. Jane was leader of a large secondary school department for a number of years. One of her roles overseas included involvement in secondary teacher training.

  • Peter Reynolds

    Peter Reynolds

    Peter has a background in Further Education and holds a senior appointment at a local college. He has been a primary school governor previously. Peter is also a Director of a Community Interest Company which provide opportunities for young people to develop their entrepreneurial skills. Peter is one of the community primary school appointed directors.

  • Michael Ryan

    Michael Ryan

    Michael is an Appointed Governor of Bartholomew School and secondary school appointed Director of the Eynsham Partnership Academy. He is currently Chair of both the Teaching and Learning Committee of Bartholomew School, and the Finance Committee for the EPA. For twenty years Michael worked in clinical biochemistry within the pathology departments at the Radcliffe Infirmary and Luton and Dunstable Hospitals. He then left the NHS and subsequently managed a family firm, a specialist contractor within the construction industry, as joint MD and finance director.

  • Craig Thomas

    Craig Thomas


Eynsham Partnership AcademyWitney Road, Eynsham, Oxon, OX29 4AP Tel: 01865 881 430 Email:

Eynsham Partnership Academy is a charitable company limited by guarantee and registered in England & Wales with Company Number 07939655.
The registered office is Bartholomew School, Witney Road, Eynsham, Oxon OX29 4AP

School Hub by Blue Chilli